Quality, Clinical Practice Guidelines and Medical Necessity 

We strive to meet the highest quality and safety standards.

PruittHealth Premier (HMO I-SNP) and PruittHealth Premier D-SNP (HMO D-SNP) are designed to meet the needs of our Members and health care partners. We follow standards developed by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) to reach this goal.

The PruittHealth Premier Quality Improvement (QI) Department has a mission to provide an effective, system-wide, measurable plan for monitoring, evaluating and improving the quality of care and services in a cost-effective and efficient manner to our enrolled Members and contracted providers.

  • PruittHealth Premier’s mission, vision, and core values create the foundation for organizational QI.
  • PruittHealth Premier uses quality assurance and performance improvement to make decisions and guide our day-to-day operations.
  • PruittHealth Premier’s QI Program includes all business lines, partners, departments and services.
  • PruittHealth Premier’s QI Program is comprehensive regarding systems of care, management practices, and business practices.
  • PruittHealth Premier’s QI Program is data-driven and is guided by our five performance improvement pillars: People, Service, Quality, Finance, and Growth and the respective business drivers in each performance improvement pillar.
  • PruittHealth Premier’s QI Program decisions are based on data, which is collected in a systematic format in alignment with our infrastructure and aggregated in Align360 – PruittHealth Premier’s proprietary care management platform.

Quality Objectives

  • To improve the health status of PruittHealth Premier Members.
  • To ensure access to high quality and safe health care services in the PruittHealth Premier service area.

For more information about the PruittHealth Premier Quality program, please call Member Services. Calls to this number are free.

Clinical Practice Guidelines

The following clinical practice guidelines are intended to support our health care team and serve as resources to ensure our providers have the most up to date, evidence-based information recommended by nationally recognized organizations. AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine  – This is the standard care process in the post-acute and long-term care (PA/LTC) setting.

Guidelines are provided for informational purposes only and are not meant to direct individual treatment decisions. All patient care and related decisions are the sole responsibility of providers. These guidelines do not dictate or control a provider’s clinical judgement regarding the appropriate treatment of a patient in any given case.


Medical Necessity

“Medically Necessary” or “Medical Necessity” means health care services or supplies that a physician, exercising prudent judgement, would provide and/or order for a patient. The services must be:

  1. a) in accordance with generally accepted standards of medical practice;
  2. b) clinically appropriate, in terms of type, frequency, extent, site and duration, and considered effective for the patient’s illness, injury or disease; and
  3. c) not primarily for the convenience of the patient, physician, or other health care provider, and
  4. d) not more costly than an alternative service or sequence of services at least as likely to produce equivalent therapeutic or diagnostic results as to the diagnosis or treatment of that patient’s illness, injury, or disease

PruittHealth Premier utilizes the following Medical Necessity criteria to guide utilization management decisions. This may include, but is not limited to, decisions involving inpatient reviews, prior authorizations, level of care, and retrospective reviews.

  1. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) Criteria
  2. Milliman Care Guidelines (MGC)

PruittHealth Premier Medical Necessity criteria does not supersede state or Federal law or regulation.